2011: The year of the wedding

Natalie Portman at the premiere gala for Love ...

Image via Wikipedia

What with Kate Middleton and Prince William setting the trend for 2011, it seems that the world (as I know it) has launched into a wedding frenzy.

Already this year I have been invited to 3 weddings as far afield as Las Vegas, Cyprus and, well, Surrey – with another friend just getting engaged on xmas eve (that’s 2012 already sorted!).

Even though my friends are getting engaged left, right and centre, and although I can’t help feeling genuine happiness for them, I do however have a slight regret that I decided to do a ‘crash-style celeb wedding’, giving myself less than 8 months to prepare the whole event last year.

I could bore you for hours on how hard it was to choose my bridesmaids (I had 5!), or the frenzy I worked myself up into over cupcake favours, – don’t ask – and it all worked out perfectly in the end, but what I would like to note is that if Princess Catherine  (as I suppose we will be calling her soon), is anything like me, then this wedding whirl-wind will pass her by before she’s even able to get a word in, or remember, as April is practically upon us.

Swiftly behind her for 2011 is Girls Aloud singer Sarah Harding and DJ beau Tom Crane who are also set to tie the knot later this year. Other celebs who have also followed suit include model-turned-actress Devon Aoki, Natalie Portman – who are both also sporting baby bumps too – and supermodel Petra Nemcova.

Let’s hope they all live happy ever after, non LA style…

Leave a Reply

